The Core Book (p. 202) states that when a character attacks two or more opponents in melee combat with the same action, “each attack suffers a cumulative -20 modifier for each extra target.” The example in the book then states that a character attacking three targets would suffer a cumulative -60 on each attack.
Is the example correct or does it require an errata? The rule states that the cumulative -20 modifier is for each EXTRA target, i.e. the number of targets beyond the first. Accordingly, in the example given, shouldn’t a character attacking three targets in melee suffer -40 to the individual attack rolls against each of the three targets, representing a cumulative -20 for each of the two targets besides the first?
Thanks.
Welcome! These forums will be deactivated by the end of this year. The conversation continues in a new morph over on Discord! Please join us there for a more active conversation and the occasional opportunity to ask developers questions directly! Go to the PS+ Discord Server.
Multiple Targets in Melee Combat Question
Fri, 2012-06-08 17:31
#1
Multiple Targets in Melee Combat Question
Fri, 2012-06-08 18:10
#2
Re: Multiple Targets in Melee Combat Question
That does sound like it requires errata; that example should list the penalty as -40 for all attacks. Good catch.
—
Transhumans will one day be the Luddites of the posthuman age.
[url=http://bit.ly/2p3wk7c]Help me get my gaming fix, if you want.[/url]