I was hoping that someone could make sure I am interpreting the rules for critical successes, 00,11,22 etc and margins of success correctly.
I'm using the incendiary device example on page 118.
Stoya is trying to kick the thrown device away and not only that but also ensure it goes down a hatch. GM decides it needs a 30 margin of success (also not sure if as GM you could say that it was 30 difficulty...).
However, if Stoya rolls a success but not 30 margin the device is only kicked away.
If Stoya rolls a double (critical), but not the 30 MoS would you rule that it does what the player intended and goes down the hatch, Or would you rule that Stoya kicks it away, it Doesn't go down the hatch But something else beneficial happens?
I would personally think the latter if only because if the player rolled a 30 MoS and a critical I would want to say Stoya not only gets what they want with their description but that a further bonus - like perhaps the maintenance hatch leads back to the assailant and that's where the device lands - also happens.
Is this the right way of thinking about it?
—
The Force will be with you. Sometimes.